Immuno-oncology research platform established

Cancer immunotherapy has recently become a major promising treatment option for patients with malignant diseases. A Translational Cancer Immunotherapy Research Program has been initiated, linking the clinical facilities with the research laboratories. State-of-the-art core facilities such as an Immune Monitoring Platform, a Cellular Therapy Laboratory and a Clinical Cancer Trials Unit have been established to facilitate and monitor novel cancer therapies with a focus on immunotherapies. The immune platform consists of a functional cancer research laboratory featuring molecular biology and tissue culture facilities, including innovative technologies such as a digital cell imaging system, a multi-color cell analyzer with cell sorting capability, a multiplex profiling system, two-photon microscopy and a modular FDA-approved expansion system for T-cell and modified effector cell populations to treat cancer. The research team is conducting basic and translational research projects in collaboration with multiple national and international research institutions. The main focus of the current projects is on cancer immunology, immunotherapy and cancer genomics.

Research collaboration

The Hamad Dental Center entered into a research collaboration with the Forsyth Dental Institute from Boston, US, one of the world’s leading dental institutes. The establishment of this research partnership enables Hamad’s dentistry to support Hamad’s academic health vision. Membership of the Forsyth Corporate Partnership Program provides an important element in developing robust clinical, research and educational programs, which will work towards transforming oral health services in Qatar to meet the needs of the local population.

Annual Research Day 2016

More than 400 researchers and senior leaders from across Hamad attended Annual Research Day 2016 in December. Organized by our Medical Research Center, the theme for this year’s event was ‘Bridging the Gap between Research and Innovation in Patient Care’. Annual Research Day 2016 featured many new awards, recognizing the outstanding contributions of our researchers. The nominations for the prestigious Distinction in Research awards were scientifically and strategically assessed by international reviewers. Applications in other categories were assessed by reviewers in Qatar.

Qatar National Research Fund

During 2016, Hamad’s Medical Research Center put forward a number of research proposals to the Qatar National Research Fund, the research funding agency for Qatar Foundation. The Qatar National Research Fund aims to foster original, competitively selected research in a wide range of areas including engineering and technology, physical and life sciences, medicine and humanities. In 2016, Hamad’s research investigators received six grant awards through the Qatar National Research Fund, totaling around $3,500,000.

إنشاء برنامج بحثي للعلاج المناعي لمحاربة السرطان

أصبح مؤخرًا العلاج المناعي من الخيارات الواعدة والهامة لعلاج المرضى الذين يعانون من أمراض خبيثة. وفي هذا الإطار، تم إنشاء برنامج البحوث التطبيقية في مجال العلاج المناعي للسرطان الذي يربط كافة المرافق الطبية بالمختبرات البحثية. وشملت المرافق الرئيسية التي تم إنشاؤها وتجهيزها بأحدث التقنيات منصة مراقبة الجهاز المناعي، مختبر العلاج الخلوي، ووحدة التجارب السرطانية السريرية وهي تهدف جميعها إلى تسهيل ورصد العلاجات السرطانية الجديدة مع التركيز على العلاجات المناعية. وتتكون منصة العلاجات المناعية من مختبر وظيفي للبحوث السرطانية تتبع له مرافق متخصصة في علم الأحياء الجزيئي وزراعة الأنسجة بما فيها التقنيات المبتكرة وفي مقدمتها نظام تصوير الخلايا الرقمي، جهاز تحليل وفرز الخلايا المتعدد الألوان، نظام تنميط متعدد الجوانب، فحص مجهري ذو ضوئين، ونظام حائز على اعتماد إدارة الأغذية والأدوية الأمريكية لتوسعة الخلايا التائية وفصائل الخلايا المؤثرة المتغيرة لعلاج السرطان. ويضطلع الفريق البحثي بمشاريع في مجال البحوث التطبيقية والأساسية بالتعاون مع مؤسسات بحثية متعددة على الصعيدين الدولي والوطني. ويتركز محور اهتمام المشاريع الحالية حول علم المناعة لمكافحة السرطان، والعلاج المناعي، وجينومات السرطان.

تعاون بحثي

أبرم مركز حمد للأسنان اتفاقية تعاون بحثي مع معهد فورسايت الواقع في ولاية بوسطن الأمريكية وأحد أبرز المعاهد المتخصصة في طب الأسنان في العالم. وبموجب هذه الشراكة البحثية، سيتمكّن المركز من دعم الرؤية الصحية الأكاديمية التي تبنتها مؤسسة حمد. حيث تضفي العضوية في برنامج فورسايت للشراكة المؤسسية عنصرًا هامًا في تطوير البرامج السريرية والبحثية والتعليمية المتميزة والتي من شأنها أن تسهم في تحويل خدمات صحة الفم والأسنان في قطر بما يتيح مواكبة احتياجات السكان وتلبية الطلب على خدمات طب الأسنان.

يوم البحوث السنوي 2016

شارك ما يزيد عن 400 من الباحثين وكبار الموظفين بمؤسستنا في يوم البحوث السنوي 2016 الذي أقيم في ديسمبر. ونظم مركز البحوث الطبية حدث هذا العام تحت شعار «سد الفجوة بين البحوث والابتكار في رعاية المرضى ». شهد يوم البحوث السنوي 2016 إضافة العديد من الجوائز الجديدة تقديرًا لمساهمات فرقنا البحثية وتميز الجهود المبذولة. وخضعت المشاريع والمبادرات البحثية التي تنافست على جوائز التميز في قطاع البحوث لتقييم علمي واستراتيجي على يد خبراء دوليين. كما خضعت المشاركات عن سائر الفئات الأخرى لمراجعة متخصصين من داخل قطر.

الصندوق القطري لرعاية البحث العلمي

على مدار العام 2016 ، قدّم مركز البحوث الطبية التابع لمؤسستنا عددًا من الاقتراحات البحثية إلى الصندوق القطري لرعاية البحث العلمي الذي أنشأته مؤسسة قطر لتوفير الدعم والتمويل للمشاريع والبرامج البحثية. ويهدف هذا الصندوق إلى تشجيع الأبحاث المبتكرة المختارة على أساس تنافسي في مجموعة واسعة من المجالات ومنها الهندسة والتكنولوجيا، والعلوم الفيزيائية والحياتية، والطب، والعلوم الإنسانية. وفي العام 2016 ، حصل باحثونا على 6 منح بحثية من الصندوق القطري لرعاية البحث العلمي بما بلغ مجموعه 3٫500٫000 دولار أمريكي تقريبًا.