JCI Academic Medical Center accreditation

At the start of 2016, Hamad became the first healthcare system across the globe to have all of its hospitals accredited by the Joint Commission International (JCI) under its Academic Medical Center program. We also became the first hospital system outside of the United States to achieve JCI Academic Medical Center accreditation for all its hospitals simultaneously. The successful accreditation followed almost two months of rigorous on-site surveys by the internationally renowned independent JCI, which identifies, measures and shares leading practices in healthcare quality and patient safety across the world. The JCI team of surveyors closely examined over 300 standards and 1400 measurable elements across all our hospitals – all of which now hold the official Gold Seal of Approval® for accreditation under the Academic Medical Center Hospital standards. Our hospitals were evaluated against JCI’s 5th edition standards – the most challenging standards to date.

Outpatient Services Improvement Program

A corporate-wide Outpatient Services Improvement Program has been established to not only improve patient access to outpatient care, but to also significantly enhance the patient experience through the delivery of a more efficient and cost-effective outpatient service. The Outpatient Services Improvement Program supports the sharing of best practice, creating systems and processes to reduce the number of canceled appointments, shorten waiting times, and make operational processes more efficient over time.

Operational Performance System

The Operational Performance System has been launched with the key objective of maximizing the efficiency of bed management across our hospital network. A key focus of the system is strengthening communication between teams from each of the hospitals – with conference calls twice daily, seven days a week – to look closely at how many patients are coming into the various hospitals, how many patients are medically fit to be discharged, and how beds can be better managed to accommodate more patients who need our care. Facilities share information on their operational positions using situation reports that contain accurate, up-to-date data, as close to real time as is possible. In just a few months since launch, the system had already delivered improvements with reduced capacity pressures.

Cashless payment system

As part of initiatives to streamline and enhance the overall patient experience across the organization, a cashless payment system has been introduced at a number of additional facilities in 2016, including Women’s Hospital, the Bone and Joint Center, Pediatric Emergency Center Al Sadd and the Internal Medicine Clinic. Patients at these facilities now need to pay by credit, debit or e-cash card at the counter they register at, instead of visiting the cashier. The cashless system also allows any subsequent payments for services to be taken at the registration counter. By eliminating a step in the payment process, the system saves valuable time for patients during their visits.

Hamad Dental Center established

The transformation of dental services across Hamad took a significant step forward in 2016 with the establishment of the Hamad Dental Center. Previously, this facility operated within Rumailah Hospital’s portfolio of services, but with this development the Center is now its own separate entity. Hamad Dental Center manages the specialized dental services provided within the Center but also governs the Dental Service Network, which is responsible for the strategic delivery of dentistry services throughout the organization. Hamad Dental Center’s leadership works closely with Hamad’s general hospitals to ensure strategic dental services are operating in Al Khor, Al Wakra and The Cuban hospitals.

اعتماد المراكز الطبية الأكاديمية من اللجنة الدولية المشتركة

في مطلع العام 2016 ، أصبحت مؤسسة حمد الطبية أول نظام صحي في العالم يحصل على اعتماد اللجنة الدولية المشتركة لجميع مستشفياته في إطار برنامج اعتماد المراكز الطبية الأكاديمية. كما أصبحنا أول نظام مستشفيات خارج الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية يحصل على الاعتماد كمركز طبي أكاديمي من قِبل اللجنة الدولية المشتركة لجميع مستشفياته في آن واحد.

ويأتي هذا الاعتماد بعد اجتياز مستشفياتنا لمسح دقيق وفق معايير صارمة أجري على مدار شهرين من قبل خبراء اللجنة الدولية المشتركة، وهي هيئة عالمية مستقلة تهتم بتحديد وقياس ومشاركة أفضل الممارسات في مجال جودة الرعاية الصحية وسلامة المرضى حول العالم. وقام فريق من خبراء اللجنة الدولية المشتركة بالتحقق من استيفاء مستشفياتنا لما يزيد على 300 معيار و 1400 من عناصر التقييم القابلة للقياس، حيث حصلت جميعها بشكل رسمي على الختم الذهبي بالموافقة على اعتمادها وفقاً لمعايير اعتماد المراكز الطبية الأكاديمية. وخضعت مستشفياتنا للتقييم وفقاً للنسخة الخامسة من معايير التقييم باللجنة الدولية المشتركة والتي تعد النسخة الأكثر صعوبة حتى الآن.

برنامج تحسين خدمات مرضى العيادات الخارجية

أنشئ برنامج تحسين خدمات العيادات الخارجية على مستوى مؤسستنا بهدف تيسير وصول المرضى لخدمات العيادات الخارجية والارتقاء بتجربتهم وذلك من خلال تقديم خدمات أكثر فعالية وجدوى من جهة التكلفة في العيادات الخارجية. ويدعم هذا البرنامج تبادل الممارسات الأفضل ووضع نظم ومناهج تشغيلية للحد من المواعيد الملغاة وتقصير فترات انتظار المرضى وتعزيز كفاءة المناهج التشغيلية قدر الإمكان.

نظام الأداء التشغيلي

أُطلق نظام الأداء التشغيلي بهدف تحسين إدارة السعة الاستيعابية للأسرّة على امتداد شبكة مستشفياتنا. وركز النظام بشكل أساسي على تعزيز سبل التواصل بين الفرق العاملة في كل من مستشفياتنا التي أصبحت تتواصل فيما بينها مرتين في اليوم، سبعة أيام في الأسبوع، بهدف مراجعة الوضع التشغيلي لكل مستشفى والإطلاع على عدد المرضى الذين تسمح لهم حالتهم الصحية بمغادرة المستشفى وعدد الأسرّة المتوافرة لاستقبال المزيد من المرضى الذين يحتاجون إلى رعايتنا. فبدأت المرافق تتبادل المعلومات حول وضعها التشغيلي مستخدمة تقارير تتضمن معلومات حديثة ودقيقة تعكس وضعها الفعلي إلى حد بعيد. وبدأ هذا النظام بعد مرور أشهر قليلة فحسب على تشغيله من تحسين الخدمات والتخفيف من حدة الضغط على مستشفياتنا.

نظام الدفع غير النقدي

طبّقت مؤسستنا نظامًا جديدًا للدفع غير النقدي في عدد من مرافقها على مدار العام 2016 بما فيها مستشفى النساء، ومركز العظام والمفاصل، ومركز طوارىء الأطفال بالسد، وعيادة الطب الباطني وذلك كجزء من برنامج شامل على مستوى المؤسسة يهدف إلى تعزيز تجربة المرضى. وإدخال النظام الجديد يعني أن المرضى في هذه المرافق سيبدأون من الآن فصاعدًا بالدفع بواسطة البطاقة المصرفية أو بطاقات الائتمان أو بطاقات الدفع الإلكتروني في نفس المكتب الذي يقومون بتسجيل وصولهم فيه، بدلاً من التوجه إلى أمين الصندوق. ويسمح نظام الدفع غير النقدي بتسديد أي من الرسوم المطلوبة في مكتب التسجيل. كما يتيح للمرضى توفير الوقت وتجنيبهم قضاء وقت إضافي خلال زياراتهم للعيادة.

إنشاء مركز حمد للأسنان

حققت عملية توحيد خدمات الأسنان بمرافق مؤسسة حمد قفزة نوعية في العام 2016 مع إنشاء مركز حمد للأسنان. حيث كان هذا المرفق ينضوي سابقاً تحت مجموعة خدمات مستشفى الرميلة ثم أصبح كيانًا منفصلًا مع تأسيس هذا المركز. ويتولى مركز حمد للأسنان إدارة خدمات الأسنان المتخصصة التي يقدمها، إلى جانب الإشراف على شبكة عيادات الأسنان في مختلف مرافق المؤسسة. ويعمل قادة مركز حمد للأسنان عن كثب مع المستشفيات العامة التابعة لمؤسستنا لضمان حسن تشغيل خدمات الأسنان الاستراتيجية التي يقدمها كل من مستشفى الوكرة ومستشفى الخور والمستشفى الكوبي.