Professor John A.H. Wass, MA, MD, FRCP


Emeritus Professor of Endocrinology, Oxford University

Emeritus Fellow of Green College, University of Oxford


Department of Endocrinology, Churchill Hospital, Oxford OX3 7LJ

Tel: 00 44 1844 358031




Endocrine Lead, GIRFT, NHS England, current

CRG Chair for Endocrinology NHS England, current

Academic Vice President, Royal College of Physicians 2011 - 2015

Emeritus Fellow Green College, Oxford

Honorary Member, German, Polish, Ceylon College of Physicians

Previous appointments

Linacre Fellow, Royal College of Physicians (1994 - 1998)

Head of the Department of Endocrinology, Churchill Hospital, Oxford,

Consultant Physician, Radcliffe Infirmary and Churchill Hospital Oxford (1995-2012)

Professor of Endocrinology, University of London, St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College (1989-1995)

Sub Dean of the Medical College (1989-1995)


President of the European Federation of Endocrine Societies 2001-2003 - first UK

Chairman of the Society for Endocrinology (2006-2009)

President of the Pituitary Society (2006-2007) - first UK

Over 440 publications


Outstanding Scholarly Physician Award, American Endocrine Society 2016 (first non-American)

Lifetime Achievement Award, Pituitary Society (America) 2017

Geoffrey Harris Prize European Society of Endocrinology 2021

Books :

  1. Editor of Clinical Endocrine Oncology 1st edition, Blackwells 1997, 2nd edition 2008
  2. Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology, OUP, Eds John Wass & Stephen Shalet, 2002
  3. Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology, OUP, Eds. John Wass & Paul Stewart 2011
  4. OHE 1st edition Eds, John Wass & Helen Turner 2002, 2nd edition 2010
  5. Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology 3rd edition 2013. OUP 2014
  6. Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology 3rd Edition OUP 2021
  7. Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology 4th Edition OUP 2021 (14000 copies sold previously)

Editorial Boards:

Editorial Board member for Medicine 2001-2010

Editorial Board, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism 2006-2011

Editorial Board, Endocrine Reviews 2007-2012


Awarded from Medical Research Council, Wellcome Trust, British Diabetic Association, Arthritis & Rheumatism Council and the European Union.


Co-founder of the Pituitary Foundation 1994

Governor of the Purcell School 2000-2012

Chairman of the Medical Committee of the Addison’s Disease Self Help Group (2009-

Patron (with Professor Brian Cox) St. Paul’s School Bow 2012 –

Cofounder Obesity Health Alliance 2015


The Fantastic World of Hormones – BBC4 Presenter 2014