Dr. Sidney C. Smith, Jr., MD
Division of Cardiology, University of North Carolina, USA

Sidney C. Smith, Jr., M.D. is Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology at the University of North Carolina. He received medical degree from Yale University and completed his medical residency, and cardiology fellowship at Peter Bent Brigham (now Brigham and Women’s) Hospital/Harvard Medical School.

Dr Smith is a past president of the American Heart Association (AHA) and has served as Chief Science Officer for the AHA. He chaired the American College of Cardiology (ACC)/AHA Task Force on Cardiovascular Guidelines, chaired the ACC/AHA guideline committee to revise Interventional Cardiology(PCI) guidelines, served on the writing group for the management of acute myocardial infarction (STEMI), and chaired the AHA/ACC Guidelines on Secondary Prevention. He served as a member of the writing groups at the NHLBI/NIH for Guidelines on Cardiovascular Risk , Treatment of Blood Cholesterol, Lifestyle, Hypertension and Guideline Implementation. Dr. Smith was Co-Chair of the ACC/AHA Bethesda Conference on Professionalism and Ethics.

Dr. Smith is a past president of the World Heart Federation (WHF) and chaired the Scientific Advisory Board of the WHF. He was Senior Advisor and Chair of the Executive Committee for the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Integrated Guidelines for the prevention of cardiovascular disease. 

Dr Smith is a Fellow in several associations including the AHA, European Society of Cardiology, and Royal Society of Medicine, a Master of the ACC and is an Honorary International Fellow of the Japanese Circulation Society. He has received the AHA’s Physician of the Year Award, Distinguished National Leadership Award, Gold Heart Award, Eugene Drake Award, Joseph Stokes Award in Preventive Cardiology, Council of Clinical Cardiology Distinguished Achievement Award, Chairman’s Award, the James Herrick Distinguished Clinician Award , and the Ron Haddock International Impact Award as well as the Brazilian Cardiology Society International Teaching Award.

Dr. Smith is the recipient of the NHLBI/NIH Award of Special Recognition. He is an author or coauthor on more than 400 published papers and chapters and and has served or currently serves on the editorial boards for the Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine, Journal of Clinical and Experimental Cardiology, Journal of the American College of Cardiology, Circulation and JAMA Cardiology. He continues his clinical practice in Cardiology at UNC.   Yearly since 1998 Dr. Smith has been elected to Best Doctors in America.